36 Comments
Apr 6, 2020Liked by Debbie Koenig

Completely ignoring Easter. We usually celebrate with my (Catholic) dad's family, but the rest of us are Jewish so I'm fine not doing anything, especially since we're all vegetarian and it's not like I was looking forward to a ham or anything.

For Passover: Matzo ball soup, all the normal seder plate stuff, and maybe some sweet potato fries so I can make sure my toddlers eat something. We're doing a mini seder over Zoom with my in-laws before the sun goes down. Still trying to think of a dessert.

Expand full comment
Apr 6, 2020Liked by Debbie Koenig

I’m just feeling grateful we managed to find enough eggs that the kids can dye some!

Expand full comment

We’re not observant except with extended family celebrations. My daughter turns three on Easter Day so we’re going to celebrate her! Per request, Nachos and apples and Strawberry ice cream in a cone and nachos and milk.

Expand full comment

Oh, is easter happening so soon? With the lockdown I've been finding it all to easy to lose track of what day it is much less the date!

I may pick up and have a small lunch with my family at home for easter, but otherwise absolutely nothing is really getting planned.

I'm still baking like my life depends on it to try and keep busy. The last few days have been all about cherry chocolate brownies. Delicious!

Expand full comment

Easter is usually my holiday so I do brunch with around 25-30 family members & friends, sadly this year we can’t do it, our state is in total lockdown and I’m not even going to the store this week. So it will just be our little family of four, I’m still making brunch I had a ham from Christmas in my deep freeze and plenty in my pantry & fridge for quiche, potato’s and salad, no croissants and no desert but it’s ok, I promised my family and friends after Covid is over we’ll be throwing a bbq and swim party this summer. I would love to do a crusty bread not necessarily for Easter Sunday but one that doesn’t require yeast, I have a lot of baking supplies in my pantry

Expand full comment

Admit that I am being super lazy and purchasing a premade family meal from a local restaurant. I can't seem to get the energy to plan and find ingredients for a special meal, and only three of us are here anyway.

Expand full comment

For Passover, I am going to make matzah ball soup and a pot roast. The side dishes will be mashed potatoes or potato kugel and salad and maybe roasted carrots. Also all the Seder plate items, except no shank bone. A bunch of hardboiled eggs. And matzah toffee and fruit for dessert. Pretty traditional. For Easter, we decided to do a brunch for the 4 of us, which is not our typical family tradition. Usually we have a big dinner with ham, kielbasa and lamb, but my kids don't like lamb and I don't really like ham, at least not enough to cook a big ham for the 4 of us. So for the brunch, I think cinnamon rolls, eggs, "Polish easter bread", grilled ham steaks and fruit...I also have kielbasa in the freezer and could serve that too. (I'm Jewish and husband is Catholic)

Expand full comment

We do a Polish Easter with kielbasa and pierogies and other delicious heavy food s. I usually travel to Brooklyn to get everything we need the week before Easter but since we are stuck at home and not riding the subway, I ordered everything we need and am keeping my fingers crossed it will be here soon. I also make a “lamb cake” which is essentially a pound cake in a lamb shaped mold- and I tried to get out of it this year bc I am so swamped with work, but my girls wouldn’t hear of it. I am not sure when I will get the baking done though.

Expand full comment

Great recipe! My kids love crack/crunch. I've been trying to find inspiration about cooking for Easter, but it just isn't there. Not sure what I'll do. Once Sunday is here I'm sure I'll be disappointed if I don't have something planned.

Expand full comment

We were pretty lucky being able to source just about everything we need to get through Passover. In family tradition fashion I forgot the horseradish, and we need to get dates and ice cream to get us through the week. I think we're doing a pot roast (got SUPER lucky finding a chuck roast!) for seder with veggie matzoh ball soup (since chicken isn't an option), and a carrot kugel that my daughter loves. It's a lot of work, but once or twice a year I'll do it. I haven't gotten as far as dessert yet. I'm pulling a Scarlett O'Hara on that one (I'll think about it tomorrow...) We were able to find matzo but no matzo crackers. We may end up having Easter dinner with my folks (who are Catholic, and we're "sharing" a household for the duration of this, altho we have two houses.) But I'm not responsible for that. We're cooking for them on Thursday night - shepard's pie, but with ground turkey instead of a mix of turkey and lamb.

Expand full comment

I'm going to miss making matzo crack this year! I couldn't get matzo so we have to make it from scratch and I don't think we'll have enough left to allow for matzo crack. *sad face*

NB: I'm Christian, my husband is Jewish and we are not particularly observant on any front so god knows my seder meal is probably violating all sorts of dietary restrictions. Full apologies.

For passover: I'm going to spatchcock a chicken (This recipe is killer: https://www.kitchenistadiaries.com/2016/08/majorkeyalert-tutorial-for-crispy.html)

I'll make matzo ball soup and charoset. I managed to find gefilte fish at the store. I have NO IDEA what to do about side dishes for the chicken.

For Good Friday I have shrimp (no meat and yet somehow a special dinner, whee!). I may do polenta with that (please see note about not being observant - we'll be eating bread products for Easter even though it's Passover, it's all just a mess) and then...some sort of vegetable?

For Easter breakfast: probably deviled eggs, definitely Portuguese Sweet Bread (which is a sweet enriched dough that uses milk and eggs and SUGAR) sweet bread recipe here: http://oneperfectbite.blogspot.com/2013/07/portuguese-sweet-bread.html

For Easter dinner: Duck Breasts https://carrietracy.blogspot.com/2009/10/beginners-duck.html

Probably roast squash and probably a Pommes Anna.

Things I have in the house for possible side dishes for Good Friday/Passover Seder: Polenta, rice, potatoes, most beans, couscous, frozen peas, beets, acorn squash, butternut squash, beet greens, romaine lettuce, tomatoes, broccoli, snow peas. Limited amount of carrots.

I'd love to hear everyone's menu!!

Debbie, I'd love to know what to serve with my chicken at Passover - or how much you really make - I feel like between the soup and the chicken and the charoset and the matzo it's already a lot of food, but I know there's always other stuff too. I just can't remember what the other stuff is!! I also couldn't get a shank bone (or at least didn't want to risk venturing out to a place where I could get one) so if there's any sub for that on the seder plate, I'd love to know. Currently debating using the stuffed shank bone from my kid's plush seder plate.

Expand full comment