40 Comments
Apr 21, 2020Liked by Debbie Koenig

I’m sorry to hear. I hope she stays healthy and asymptotic.

Expand full comment

I'm mostly just exhausted. I'm tired of having almost no time to myself. I'm tired of being in charge of meals and doing all the mental labor of making sure we use up the proper things in the proper order and the proper amounts so that we don't run out of anything before we're supposed to. I'm tired of feeling like my kid's public school put forth zero effort with their school plans and so his education is mostly on me, but I don't have TIME to teach him the way I'd like so he's getting a crap education on top of everything else. And I'm really tired of people thinking it'll be over soon. I want it to be over soon. I worry for my grandmother. She's fine, she's safe, but she's 95. I'd planned a trip next month to see her, just because, SHE'S 95! And now we can't go. And I need her to be okay until this is over. I'm less worried about losing her to COVID than I am about losing her in general. Sometimes I just can't believe how much borrowed time we've had and how much I've squandered.

Most days I can't think beyond the next two week without feeling desperately ill at all that's ahead. (If that's you too, don't read the next few lines, stop here). But when I am calm and quiet I know it's much longer. My 3 year old knows what he wants to be for Halloween. I'm just hoping time becomes nebulous before then because I don't think we're having Halloween and they've taken so many lost treats so well but at some point, they'll know and be sad and that will break my heart.

Expand full comment

If it’s ok with you, Debbie, I’ll add your Mom’s name to the (longer and longer) list of people in the misheberach (prayer for healing) I recite when I light Shabbat candles each Friday night...obviously, have no idea whether my “prayers” are heard, let alone whether they work, but I figure it can’t hurt. And on the subject of the asshole protestors and the LEAD asshole, don’t even GET. ME. STARTED. I don’t even recognize myself when I fantasize what should happen to them...xoxo

Expand full comment

Let us know if there's anything we can do/help with, neighbor! Sending good vibes from down the hall. And to echo everyone above, I'm also beyond tired of the tedious and selfish people who want to put others at risk.

Expand full comment

So sorry for your mom and the additional level of mental hope/wait/see you have with that, even as we are all trying to find the perfect hope/wait/see balance.

Our family returned to the States from living in Colombia a month ago. They are handling the pandemic better, but we worried about not having family near if something happened to us (we moved there in July as teachers). Now we're living with my parents after three weeks in quarantine and trying desperately to get them to be as careful as possible. They are dying for my sister and her family to come over and join in family time (it's my family of 4, my parents and my 2 brothers in their 20s) and that would bring us to 11 people. We keep saying that it's not safe, too many people, but are also getting weary of being the ones to try and hold the boundary constantly. And our state is going to start gradually opening next week so that means continued constant conversation about how even though there are some things opening, it's still too early, we still have to stay home, it's still not safe enough.

And we're unsure if we'll be able to return to Colombia this summer (I don't know if they'll take us dangerous North Americans!!) to our apartment and jobs or if we will have to give that all up and stay here.

Good things are that we have a yard and play space and can go on walks (the quarantine in Colombia is very strict and thus successful, but when we were there we had no possibilities for outdoor time apart from our tiny balcony). And I'm still teaching online and while that's not terrible, it's not great. Ugh. So much hard stuff for everyone right now.

Thanks for the thread. It's good to vent.

Expand full comment

you've been in my thoughts, Debbie! I'm struggling with loneliness. I'm single, and really second guessing the rejection of all of my potential suitors for the last year. All of them would be long-term wrong, but all of them would make this so much easier. As is, I turned to my 12yo the other day and told him he needed to talk to me more so I didn't go nuts.

Expand full comment

Ohno!!!! I really really really hope your mother pulls through and you get to be reunited soon! It's been frightening to see this hit all the nursing homes.

Ok, well, you asked. :P

I had a complete anxiety breakdown out of the blue in the middle of the night when it fully set in that everything I planned and hoped for on spring and summer, absolutely nothing was going to happen, I live at the beach which is completely closed off. and the cops are completely everywhere, to the point where you always see someone getting a fine or citation, and I dont feel comfortable even going on quarantine walks anymore since everyone in my neighborhood seems to barely bother with masks and goes out in groups or families, have large gatherings at their house.

Yet there are idiots out their screaming for their right for a fucking. Haircut. And saying everything should just be opened back up in BIG. PROTEST. GROUPS. And to realize the sheer amount of people who dont seem to care about how many others would die if this happened is downright staggering.

Or thinking that since their zone isnt a hotspot and their hospitals are fine so they insist on the virus being unreal instead of maybe thinking that they should be grateful for that rather than being like places like New York, Italy and other complete hot spots. Barely anyone is being rational about this or acting like adults. Yes, I get it. It's awful for everybody right now. We gotta work to make the best of it though, and take all the precautions till a proper vaccine is out.

It's awful about the businesses and refixing the entire economy, etc but why does everyone seem to think it should be at the cost of thinking huge swaths of people are just totally cool to randomly die from this.

And i miss my therapy groups and sessions so much!!! I was finally starting to make progress and Its grinded to such a total halt my disorders are going in full panic mode.

....sorry for the length. High from marijuana since today being 4/20 feels like the last thing I have left. And oddly enough it resonates perfectly with staying put at home

Expand full comment

My kid’s school district, one of the largest and wealthiest in the entire country, is going on week 5 of failing at providing distance learning. It has been a roller coaster for my 3rd grade daughter, who one day gets to see her class and get a lesson from her teacher, then the next morning is told it’s off for another week. The instructions and sometimes entire systems are changing daily. I’m making up goalposts and assignments based on what we have access to, but it’s a nightmare. My anxiety is through the roof—it was already at an all-time high before all of this began, and I feel so helpless. There is literally nothing I can do to fix it. Ugh.

Expand full comment

I’m sorry Debbie. Hopefully she remains asymptomatic. We have some job instability now over here. 😔

Expand full comment

Praying for your mom and you. I am tired of folks not thinking this is real. Or even a friend who I respected before who is an engineer saying he wants out of shelter in place because his kitchen renovation needs new paint and his state just stopped paint sales last week. He wants paint but not healthy neighbors and everyone?!

Expand full comment

I am so sorry to hear about your mom. We live across the street from a “home” nursing home and it is heartbreaking to see the families stand at the end of the driveway to wave hello. I pray she stays asymptomatic and you can be together soon.

I am struggling with alllll the anxiety. I’m worried about my family getting sick (3 asthmatic kids and a husband who has had ER visit worthy pneumonia twice in the last two years). I’m worried about what the new “normal” is going to look like. I know it’s not going to be the same and the implications of changes I’m hearing about have the potential to have drastic effects on our long term situation. I’m worried about society going absolutions bat shit crazy. I live in NorCal, not a hotspot but definitely covid activity, and the people demanding everything to open up NOW makes me feel sick. There’s just so much uncertainty.

Expand full comment

Thinking of you and this uniquely terrifying, out of control situation. I’m tired of wearing baggy clothes and feeling useless as a mom, teacher and worker! The other side of the coin is the precious time I get to spend with my loved ones and all the time I get to spend in the kitchen.

Expand full comment

I’m sorry, that’s scary. My main concern right now is also my mom. She is in chemo so she’s high risk and has has various other weird issues and problems and went into the hospital last night for a blood clot. She’s far away and it just makes me so sad that I don’t know when I’ll see her and my dad again. It’s the thing I want most right now.

Expand full comment